Simple’s Balloon Rides: Ice Bay

Some places in second life, you just have to explore from the air. As the Talakin Waterbird is more a sports equipment than a vehicle to scout unknown territories, I gave in to another of my long time wishes and bought myself a christmas present 😉

The “ND-Hot Air Balloon Sculpty w/cuddle v3.4.2” by Nicole Designs, made by Nicoladie Gymnast 😉 It carries pilot and 4 passengers. A sophisticated dropdown menu lets you change textures and colors of balloon, basket and floor separately. It has different cruise modes and several separate camera angles for pilot and passengers. And it is copiable. The only drawback so far: The sit animations are not modifiable – so the pilot is stuck in a static pose and has to hold a passenger in the arm the whole tour over 😉

Looks a little bit stupid, when the pilot does not ride with such an intimate friend 🙂

To get used to this new toy, I have chosen to explore Ice Bay, 6 regions extending the Sansara Snowlands to the east into the Sea of Fables. This wide inland Ocean on the Sansara subcontinent is a real Sailors Dream, with many areas of interest to visit. I found Ice Bay singly mentioned on the map (http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Sea_of_Fables), there was no entry for any point of interest or rezz zone.

But a closer look on the map saved me from an extended search for a place to rezz my Balloon. In the NW corner of Svan, a bright green marking was shouting “COME SAIL” – and I guessed correctly – there was a rezz zone to the parcel 😉

The facility is offered by the ~Second Wind~ group as “Aspen Sailing Resource Center – Come Sail With Us – A sailing resource center with information about sailing, yacht clubs, and SL sail boats to welcome all SL residents to sailing”. There is a small detached rezz zone on the water at (http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Svan/234/204/27). The Center offers a lot of different sailboats for free and a lot of information about sailing in secondlife in a wonderful scenery.

First, I spend a very rewarding hour playing around with sky and light presets. This white ice was outblinding any color in my familiar settings! In the end, I decided to use the very dramatic, only slightly modified “[TOR] SUNSET – Oriental delight 1” from Torley 😉

To the east, behind the first large icefield, I passed over this amazing ship by Lia Woodget, the parcel is set to the Black Spot group. The slowly drifting icefields of Ice Bay are made by Crazy Mole.

First I was heading to the north to Kara, I originally planned a roundtrip …

In Biscay, the icefields are changing to isolated small drifting icebergs. I turn south after the last one and follow the eastern coast. There are very wonderful sceneries to enjoy along most of the shores of Ice Bay.

These parcels in Lakeville are owned by the Little Dreams Skyboxes group.

While crossing the border to Amundsen, I was suddenly kicked out of the basket and dropped on the seaground. I could recover, nothing stucked or broken, but the Balloon was out of sight – so i started with a new one at the rezz zone again.

On second try, I had no problems crossing from Barents to Laptev in the south from there to Chukchi to the east and from there back to Amundsen. But the Balloon was nowhere to find, it seems to be lost in the void – since this day, it did not return to my inventory. That’s why I only buy vehicles wich are copiable 😉

Cruising over the icefields, I found two more creations by Crazy Mole. First this “Sledge_01_IceBay_CRA_OB”.

Then on the next iceberg, the “LPDW_ICE_Kano_01V2”. The eskimoes left them without leaving any trace …

For sure the best way to enter Ice Bay is from the Drawbridge region, where it connects to the Sea of Fables. This beautiful house towering over the pier is made by Saphron, owned by Kayleen Saphir and set to the Little Dreams Skybox group.

While rising the draw distance to have a look into the fjord, I crashed again 😦

Obviously my latop reaches its limits with this settings – at least this time I was able to recollect the balloon …

I’m absolutely confident, that more mole creations could be found underwater – but me, I have seen enough ice for now. Perhaps I will return another day – I still miss a submarine in my vehicle collection 😉

Ice Bay is a small but very beautiful area to explore. Just too bad there is no protected rezz zone for miles around. I recommend to do like I did, select on the map a promising place along the coast and look from there for a parcel wich has building enabled to the public. It shouldn’t prove too difficult, this seems to be a very friendly, openhearted and generous neighborhood. And as ever: All will be well, as long as you make a little effort yourself to

be nice and have fun …

Good winds!

Leave a Reply

